Monday, August 15, 2022
Home Woman business 5 Canadian scholars win $100K Killam Prize for outstanding research

5 Canadian scholars win $100K Killam Prize for outstanding research

A sociologist who specializes in equity issues around education and employment and a renowned cardiologist who expanded our understanding of the societal and biologic causes of heart disease are among five Canadian researchers awarded $100,000 apiece for contributions to their respective fields.

The Canada Council for the Arts named this year’s winners of the prestigious Killam Prize on Tuesday.

The career honours are awarded annually to scholars who have distinguished themselves in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering.

The 2022 recipients include Carl E. James, the Jean Augustine Chair in Education, Community & Diaspora at Toronto’sYork University, for his research on how to create a more equitable society and his interdisciplinary work on identity, race, class, gender, racialization and immigration.

Read more:

Montreal molecular pharmacologist among winners of $100K Killam Prize

Story continues below advertisement

Cardiologist and epidemiologist Salim Yusuf of Hamilton’s McMaster University is commended for his work on theprevention and treatment of cardiovascular disease.

In Halifax, Dalhousie University ethicist Francoise Baylis is being lauded for contributions to research on assisted human reproduction, transplantation, deep brain stimulation and genetic enhancement.

Also honoured are University of Toronto nanochemistry expert Geoffrey Ozin, whose work inspired the development of lithium-ion batteries, supercapacitors and fuel cells; and Dalhousie physics professor Jeff Dahn who’s recognized as a pioneer in the battery technology used in power tools and electric vehicles.

Click to play video: 'The COVID-19 brain connections this McGill professor is helping uncover'

The COVID-19 brain connections this McGill professor is helping uncover

The COVID-19 brain connections this McGill professor is helping uncover – Jun 2, 2020

Killam Prize winners are selected by a committee of their peers. Previous winners include Victoria Kaspi, the late Mark Wainberg, and Nobel Prize winner Arthur McDonald.

Established in 1965, the Killam Trusts are valued at roughly $500 million, including nearly $70 million from the Canada Council. The program was endowed by Dorothy Killam in memory of her late husband, Canadian industrialist Izaak Walton Killam.


© 2022 The Canadian Press

Most Popular

Jason Kenney calls UCP candidate-backed sovereignty act “nuts”

Alberta Premier Jason Kenney has so far declined to pick a favourite in the race to succeed him, but when asked to comment on...

Lethbridge Farms celebrate Alberta Open Farm Days

It’s not every day that you get the chance to see the behind-the-scenes of how farm-fresh veggies are grown or how a well-known brand...

Creighton RCMP searching for missing 66-year-old woman

By Andrew Benson Global News Posted August 14, 2022 8:27 pm Smaller font Descrease article font size -A Larger font Increase article font size A+

Quebec writers react to Salman Rushdie attack

Quebec writers are reacting to the attack on author Salman Rushdie, calling the stabbing horrific and arguing that freedom of speech is under threat. For...